10 Common Yoga Symbols and Their Meanings

Yoga symbols

Every day, we utilise symbols to interpret the world around us. Symbols exist in all cultures. Here we will learn Common Yoga Symbols and Their Meanings.

Numerous spiritual traditions and the symbols employed in yoga, are from ages across numerous nations. In order to understand and gain insight into their meditation practice, yogis use these yoga symbols in their spiritual practices.

In this article, we will explore common yoga symbols and delve into their profound symbolism, shedding light on the mystical language of yoga.

What are yoga symbols

Yoga symbols are visual representations that hold deep spiritual and philosophical meanings within the practice of yoga. These symbols serve as reminders, tools, and focal points for meditation, contemplation, and spiritual growth. There are numerous symbols associated with yoga, here are some of the most common ones:

How to Use Yoga Symbols?

Yoga symbols are useful tools for honing a practise and connecting with the spiritual aspects of yoga. Engaging with yoga symbols helps create a sacred setting, enhances concentration, and creates a sense of reverence for the ancient wisdom of yoga. Yoga symbols used correctly, so it is essential to understand their significance. Yoga-inspired symbols can be seen on jewellery, apparel, and even home furnishings. Jewellery with yoga-related symbols on it is also acceptable. The intention and devotion with which one applies yoga symbols in their practise determines their power. Utilising them ultimately involves a personal journey.

The meanings of common yoga symbols

Common yoga symbols carry deep meanings and represent various aspects of yoga philosophy and spirituality. Here are the meanings of a few well-known yoga symbols:

1. Om (Aum):

Om, the most well-known and sacred symbol in yoga, represents the primordial sound of the universe. It embodies the creation, preservation, and dissolution of life, symbolizing the ultimate reality, consciousness, and the interconnectedness of all beings.

2. Lotus Flower:

The lotus flower: a symbol of purity, enlightenment, and spiritual growth, carrying profound meaning in yoga and beyond. Just as the lotus blooms in muddy waters, yoga teaches us to rise above the challenges and find beauty and serenity within.

3. Mandala:

Mandala, meaning “circle” in Sanskrit, is a geometric pattern representing the universe and wholeness. Meditating on mandalas can aid in concentration and balance, connecting us to our inner selves and the vastness of existence.

4. Tree of Life:

The Tree of Life symbolizes growth, interconnectedness, and the unity of all creation. Its roots ground us, while its branches aspire toward higher states of consciousness, reminding us of our roots and the potential for spiritual expansion.

5. Namaste:

Namaste, often accompanied by a gesture of pressing the palms together at the heart center, signifies respect, gratitude, and recognition of the divine spark within ourselves and others. It is a salutation that acknowledges the inherent interconnectedness and equality of all beings.

6. Yin and Yang:

Derived from Chinese philosophy but deeply intertwined with yoga, Yin and Yang symbolize the balance of opposing forces. The dark Yin represents femininity, receptivity, and introspection, while the bright Yang embodies masculinity, action, and outward expression. Harmony is achieved by embracing the complementary energies within ourselves and the world.

7. Chakras:

The energy centres known as chakras run along the spine and are linked to several facets of life. The seven main chakras represent various physical, emotional, and spiritual dimensions, with their symbols depicting different elements, colors, and shapes.

8. Eye of Enlightenment:

Also known as the Third Eye or Ajna chakra, the Eye of Enlightenment represents inner wisdom, intuition, and higher perception. It serves as a reminder to cultivate self-awareness and tap into our inner guidance, leading us toward enlightenment and spiritual awakening.

9. Serpent (Kundalini):

The serpent symbolizes the dormant spiritual energy coiled at the base of the spine, known as Kundalini. Awakening and guiding this energy through yoga practices can lead to higher states of consciousness, transcendence, and self-realization.

10. Mudras:

Mudras are hand gestures that direct and channel energy in the body. These symbolic hand postures hold specific meanings and can aid in meditation, healing, and spiritual connection. From Chin Mudra (the gesture of consciousness) to Anjali Mudra (the gesture of devotion), mudras deepen the practitioner’s experience and facilitate energetic flow.


Q1: Can these symbols be used in daily life, beyond yoga practice?

Yes, these symbols carry profound meanings that can be embraced and applied to daily life. They serve as reminders to cultivate mindfulness, unity, and spiritual growth in all aspects of our existence.

Q2: Do these symbols belong to a specific yoga tradition?

While many of these symbols are associated with Hinduism and Buddhism, they are widely used in various yoga traditions and can be appreciated regardless of religious or cultural background.

You May Also Like:

Best Sticky yoga mats for sweaty hands

Yoga Strap: Benefits And Uses

 Wheel Pose: Essential Tips and Techniques


Symbols play a significant role in yoga, transcending the physical practice and guiding practitioners toward deeper understanding and spiritual growth. By exploring and understanding these 10 common yoga symbols and their meanings, we gain insight into the rich tapestry of yoga’s ancient wisdom. Incorporating these symbols into our practice and daily lives can enhance our connection to the divine, foster self-awareness, and lead us on a transformative journey toward inner peace and enlightenment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post comment